dnanian

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan, Tesla Model S, BMW i3
Country flag
I really don't understand how deleting the app - which deletes its entire sandbox, and all its data - wouldn't work. I suppose it's possible that when you reinstalled it restored data from iCloud for that app...but it seems bizarre that you'd have to reset.

I'm a developer and have used iOS since before v1.0, and I don't think I've ever had to wipe the phone to get an app to work.
Sponsored

OP
OP

Pjjameso

First Name
Paul
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
‘20 Taycan Turbo
Country flag
I really don't understand how deleting the app - which deletes its entire sandbox, and all its data - wouldn't work. I suppose it's possible that when you reinstalled it restored data from iCloud for that app...but it seems bizarre that you'd have to reset.

I'm a developer and have used iOS since before v1.0, and I don't think I've ever had to wipe the phone to get an app to work.
I deleted the app, rebooted, backed up to iCloud, reset the phone, installed the app, checked that it worked, then did a restore, installed the app and low and behold it Did NOT work.
So then back to wiping phone and starting from scratch which did work, I don’t know what happened but truly a pita.

Gogs

First Name
Gordon
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan 4S, 911 4S, Range Rover Sport Hybrid, Range Rover Vouge
Country flag
I deleted the app, rebooted, backed up to iCloud, reset the phone, installed the app, checked that it worked, then did a restore, installed the app and low and behold it Did NOT work.
So then back to wiping phone and starting from scratch which did work, I don’t know what happened but truly a pita.
Very common with certain apps. My iPhone did the same with a banking app. The genius guys at Apple recommended the full reset and no restore. Must be a bad app that we had that must have written some code that conflicted with the Porsche app.

dnanian

First Name
David
Threads