Brazz

First Name
CB
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 Panamera 4S EH, 2022 Cayenne
Country flag
Hello. I'm a new member. I placed a deposit for a 4S a couple of weeks ago. The local dealer did not have any 4S allocations but seemed confident they would get a couple next month because of a Porsche year-end sales push. BUT, he said that he could always place the order at the beginning of the year. The salesperson called "someone" and was "fairly" confident they would get an allocation. I'm new to this order/allocation process, having purchased both on my Cayennes off the lot. I'm a customer of this dealership, having purchased two Cayennes (currently have a 2019). From my research and understanding, dealers get quarterly model allocations. If this specific dealership is out of 4S allocations for the quarter, is it "reasonable" to believe they would get more in December? OR, are they dragging me along so that I won't go to another dealer, forcing me to wait until next year to get an allocation from them? I don't want to wait, and that would piss me off. Should I just go to another dealer? Thoughts/Experiences? Thanks.
Sponsored

tbinmd

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
CT4, 991.2 GT3
Country flag
Dealer could be telling you the truth. Porsche does award extra allocations for meeting sales goals, etc at anytime during the year. Dealer can also trade allocations with another dealer. The easiest thing to do is to place the order, then ask for a screen shot of the project dates of production or ask for the commission number.

PDACPA

First Name
PDA
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 Taycan RWD, 1989 911 Carrera
Country flag
You might want to watch this video. My understanding is that the allocations are issued quarterly and they were just issued this month.

Without a commission number, your deposit is just that, a deposit. With the chip shortage and delays, you might want to find a car on a dealer lot. You can guy out of state easily.

OP
OP

Brazz

First Name
CB