NC_Taycan

Well-Known Member
First Name
Lewis
Joined
Oct 13, 2020
Messages
477
Reaction score
355
Location
Wake Forest, NC
Vehicles
'12 Tesla Model S P85, '17 Cayenne S, '20 Taycan Turbo
Country flag
If this is a bug and/or if this violates some US law, well now that OTA updates are working so this may get "fixed" for US drivers...





Advertisement

 

daveo4EV

Well-Known Member
First Name
David
Joined
Jan 28, 2019
Messages
1,712
Reaction score
2,596
Location
Santa Cruz
Vehicles
Tesla(s), 911 GT3, Boxster S, Bolt, Taycan, Cayenn
Country flag
If this is a bug and/or if this violates some US law, well now that OTA updates are working so this may get "fixed" for US drivers...
sssshhhhh…don’t tell anyone.
 

Dee

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dee
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
1,493
Reaction score
1,529
Location
The Netherlands
Vehicles
Yes.
Country flag
If this is a bug and/or if this violates some US law, well now that OTA updates are working so this may get "fixed" for US drivers...
Hmm, maybe we should delete this thread and keep it "our little secret"...
If I was a moderator here I would... :)
 

Reg

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Messages
1,041
Reaction score
1,117
Location
West Coast, The Best Coast
Vehicles
Taycan 4S
Country flag
Also remember that for range mode the default is to turn off passenger screen. I believe there is a setting to change that default.

Edit. I was wrong about the second sentence but keeping it here so the subsequent comments make sense.
 
Last edited:

Dee

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dee
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
1,493
Reaction score
1,529
Location
The Netherlands
Vehicles
Yes.
Country flag
If this is a bug and/or if this violates some US law, well now that OTA updates are working so this may get "fixed" for US drivers...
Actually, there are cars that have the passenger screen on all the time already, even before the update.
So that makes me think maybe this was already possible before the update but was never discovered.
It may not necessarily been part of this update.
Anyway, it works and that's good.
 

Dee

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dee
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
1,493
Reaction score
1,529
Location
The Netherlands
Vehicles
Yes.
Country flag
Also remember that for range mode the default is to turn off passenger screen. I believe there is a setting to change that default.
Hmm, very unlikely.
I've been through the whole menu and can't remember something like that but do share if you got some usable info!
 

raymort

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ray
Joined
Oct 7, 2020
Messages
45
Reaction score
39
Location
Austin, Texas
Vehicles
Taycan Turbo 2020
Country flag
Hmm, very unlikely.
I've been through the whole menu and can't remember something like that but do share if you got some usable info!
Agreed. The system wants to go into standby when no pax is present. May need to turn off auto updates!
 

RRVV17

Well-Known Member
First Name
Richard
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Messages
77
Reaction score
96
Location
Texas, USA
Vehicles
Taycan Turbo, GLS580
Country flag
My guess is it is a bug in the programming that is allowing this to occur. May be part of why it takes a few tries sometimes to get it to work. But, either way, the display actually has some value now!
Glad you got it working. We keep having to figure things out. Thanks @Dee.
 

TaycanNJ

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
59
Reaction score
67
Location
NJ
Vehicles
Taycan 4S
Country flag
First reported 12v battery dead with the update
https://www.taycanforum.com/forum/threads/locked-out.3916/post-62282

It is unclear what the root cause was but it is shows that the update does not prevent drainage in all situations and it does not top off the small battery from the big one when drainage happens.
Wow. That is hugely disappointing. My car is in for the software update now. I was told it could take up to a week. Far cry from the 1-2 hour Tesla updates that were done in the garage while connected to home Wi-Fi.
 

Dee

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dee
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
1,493
Reaction score
1,529
Location
The Netherlands
Vehicles
Yes.
Country flag

Fayaz

New Member
First Name
Fayaz
Joined
Jan 31, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Canada
Vehicles
2020 Taycan 4S
Country flag
2020 update complete , everything works , WACP Is fantastic , and same as john89 nothing was wiped and all settings as I left them . I do not have remote door or window lock functions from app , is this not a thing ?
Hi. I have a 2020 and my dealer Porsche Centre North Toronto says they have bricked 2 cars and don’t want to try mine yet. May I ask which dealer did yours?
 

Advertisement





 
ZYRUS


Advertisement
Top