Fish Fingers

First Name
Ian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan RWD
Country flag
I am an audio professional by career. This question does not have a simple answer. Cars are a non ideal listening environment at the best of times. And one that is constantly changing, by humidity, road noise, time of year etc. So this idea of “fine detail” in a car, where the shape is wrong, speaker placement is never ideal (by nature of the space), the fact that you may have an empty car or a full car, etc etc, is a bit misplaced.

Sure, if I park my Taycan in the conditioned garage, put on music, and listen I WILL hear the differences. But then again I am trained to create the original. Will most people? Even assuming “perfect” hearing (how many hours do you have in a convertible with no ear protection in your life?) I am relatively sure most people would not. I also have access to studio reference monitor systems.

And this is assuming you start with material that was properly produced.

My rule of thumb for audio and cars: avoid Bose when you can (won’t start a war here), or if you can’t turn off all DSP they use (if you can). Then use settings that give you the most fun while you are driving and listening to music. If you want fidelity park your car, create a good listening room with good (not perfect) speakers and enjoy!
Slight side issue...
How much does age affect hearing (in an average person) with regard music listening?
I know my Dad always used to mention it.

And what (in general) detiorates as you get older - high frequencies / low frequencies / detail etc?

Just interested.

........and also thinking we may save some of the older members some cash on the Bose and Burmester options. 😁
Sponsored

f1eng

First Name
Frank
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan CT4S, Ferrari 355, Merc 500E, Prius PHV
Country flag
High frequencies go first.