Kingske

First Name
Frank
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2020 Porsche Taycan 4S, 2024 BMW X3, 2014 BMW 3 GT
Country flag
Under considerable social pressure from @feye and @NC_Taycan , I launch(-controll)ed my car for the first time today after seven months of ownership. @NC_Taycan challenged me to report the first word I would utter while experiencing such a launch. In his case, it was "holy" followed by a shorter description of excrement. Having obliged today, I must say that my first and only word was as divine as his but I did not have the time to get to the digestive system. I just said "nondedju" in my native Flemish, which is a bastardization of the French "nom de Dieu". And I only have a 4S...

Being a scientist, I never saw any rational use of launch control and regarded it as a good-to-know-that-it-is-there feature without practical relevance such as top speed. I still think that it is magnificently irrelevant but would label it as a ThinkNothingFeelEverything experience where getting to 60 or 70 mph - objectively speaking not that fast - produces a visceral joy. In a way, it is the opposite of my ThinkEverythingFeelNothing experience in the Concorde which I flew once in the nineties at Mach 2 - objectively speaking extremely fast - without feeling a thing, visceral or otherwise.

What are other forum members' experiences with launch control? Is it a gimmick which wears thin after a couple of times? Or is it an integral part of the Taycan's lasting identity? Would a Taycan Turbo S launch even be comfortable?
Sponsored

struther

First Name
Brad
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Nissan GTR, Nissan 350z
Country flag