Front Axle Resonating Noise on Highway - Maintenance Throttle

NaiM5

Member
First Name
Nai
Joined
Mar 28, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
25
Location
Boston
Vehicles
2020 Taycan Turbo, 2014 991.1 Turbo, 2010 997.2 GT3, 2002 BMW E39 M5
Country flag
Hi All,

Under maintenance throttle at speeds between 60 MPH and 75 MPH, I'm stating to notice a resonating front axle noise. The noise follows a sin graph where it's frequency goes in and out at a constant rate, ascending and descending in vibration and noise level.

It reminds me of a wheel bearing on its last leg, or a dying hub assembly during cornering loads.

Awkwardly, it feels more noticeable when the suspension is tuned into "Sport," on nearly paved highways, and when the battery is closer to 50% than 85%.

Lastly, it's inconsistent. Some days, it's louder than others. Some days none at all. I can't figure it out.

I suppose this is the price we pay to be pioneers of the first Taycans, but once the noise becomes more common, I'll bring it to the dealer to take a peak. I called my dealer today to see if there were any bulletins / software upgrades and he said no, and that I'm up to date.

Wasn't sure if anyone else has experienced this.

Thanks,

Nai
2020 Taycan Turbo (Delivered 3/20)
 

wmras

Active Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Apr 6, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
29
Location
Oregon
Vehicles
GT4, Macan Turbo, Cayman SBE 987.18
Country flag
Hi All,

Under maintenance throttle at speeds between 60 MPH and 75 MPH, I'm stating to notice a resonating front axle noise. The noise follows a sin graph where it's frequency goes in and out at a constant rate, ascending and descending in vibration and noise level.

It reminds me of a wheel bearing on its last leg, or a dying hub assembly during cornering loads.

Awkwardly, it feels more noticeable when the suspension is tuned into "Sport," on nearly paved highways, and when the battery is closer to 50% than 85%.

Lastly, it's inconsistent. Some days, it's louder than others. Some days none at all. I can't figure it out.

I suppose this is the price we pay to be pioneers of the first Taycans, but once the noise becomes more common, I'll bring it to the dealer to take a peak. I called my dealer today to see if there were any bulletins / software upgrades and he said no, and that I'm up to date.

Wasn't sure if anyone else has experienced this.

Thanks,

Nai
2020 Taycan Turbo (Delivered 3/20)
This noise may be caused by the front and rea motors being slightly our of sync (wheel and tire size or inflation differences).. It might be similar to the noise between twin engine airplane propellers - you can carefully adjust one engine's speed to cancel the noise of both propellers or let them be slightly out of sync and annoy you to death. My first trial fix would be to perfectly adjust tire pressure and test.
Drive faster and you will not notice it!
 
OP
NaiM5

NaiM5

Member
First Name
Nai
Joined
Mar 28, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
25
Location
Boston
Vehicles
2020 Taycan Turbo, 2014 991.1 Turbo, 2010 997.2 GT3, 2002 BMW E39 M5
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #3
This noise may be caused by the front and rea motors being slightly our of sync (wheel and tire size or inflation differences).. It might be similar to the noise between twin engine airplane propellers - you can carefully adjust one engine's speed to cancel the noise of both propellers or let them be slightly out of sync and annoy you to death. My first trial fix would be to perfectly adjust tire pressure and test.
Drive faster and you will not notice it!
Bill, love the multi-engine analogy as I'm a SEL Cirrus pilot myself! Thanks for the tip. I checked my TPMs and found the largest delta between all four tires to be 2 PSI.

I reset all PSI to 38 (cold) per the manual for partial load and 21-inch all-season tires (I have the MissionE wheels). The noise is still there, but not as noticeable.

I'll keep monitoring, as the noise/vibration is inconsistent.

Thanks for the thought process!
 

felixtb

Well-Known Member
First Name
felix
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Messages
563
Reaction score
415
Location
switzerland
Vehicles
Porsche: Taycan R; Tesla: orig Roadster, X, new roadster reserved
Country flag
Do you have lane keep assist and is it on...... it makes a vibration and noice when it gets to close to the lines..... I thought I had a problem with a bearing..... but when I turned off the lane keep assist the noice disappeared and realized it was that.......
 
OP
NaiM5

NaiM5

Member
First Name
Nai
Joined
Mar 28, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
25
Location
Boston
Vehicles
2020 Taycan Turbo, 2014 991.1 Turbo, 2010 997.2 GT3, 2002 BMW E39 M5
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #5
Do you have lane keep assist and is it on...... it makes a vibration and noice when it gets to close to the lines..... I thought I had a problem with a bearing..... but when I turned off the lane keep assist the noice disappeared and realized it was that.......
Thanks Felixtb. Unfortunately my NVH is occurring with lane keep assist off. I think LKA is a great tool, except here in New England where every road is lined in potholes.
Sometimes I find the system pushing me back into a pot hole, which I would rather not hit, so I turn the system off and cheat the lane to avoid hitting pot holes.
 

felixtb

Well-Known Member
First Name
felix
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Messages
563
Reaction score
415
Location
switzerland
Vehicles
Porsche: Taycan R; Tesla: orig Roadster, X, new roadster reserved
Country flag
Thanks Felixtb. Unfortunately my NVH is occurring with lane keep assist off. I think LKA is a great tool, except here in New England where every road is lined in potholes.
Sometimes I find the system pushing me back into a pot hole, which I would rather not hit, so I turn the system off and cheat the lane to avoid hitting pot holes.
Just a possible explanation. I actually hate LKA since it does give you these very bizarre warnings when you are on a two lane highway and cross the center in corners and suddenly you think you have a bad bearing or a loose wheel...... so always keep it off :) (forgot to take it out of my config :CWL:)
 



Top