Had my first EV experience….(Tesla)

Atipical

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
996 C4S, Taycan GTS
Country flag
Greetings all.

I’m currently visiting some friends in San Francisco and had the opportunity to use Turo to rent a car for a couple of days. I decided to get a model 3 since I have no first hand experience with EV’s up to this point and have a GTS on the way. I can definitively say that I am not a fan of how teslas drive. The one pedal driving is way too aggressive and I hate how it changes the driving dynamics. What makes it worse is that you can’t toggle it on/off or adjust the aggressiveness of the regen. I also REALLY disliked going into the huge tablet for every little thing. It took me 5 minutes to figure out how to adjust the AC controls. I like to think I’m pretty tech savvy, but there is a reason why automakers have physical controls and buttons for certain things. It was night and day compared to my (brief) test drives with the Taycan. I’m definitely glad that Porsche didn’t try to copy Tesla with it.
Sponsored

daveo4EV

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Cayenne Hybrid, 911(s) GT3/Convertable
Country flag
regen on the Tesla can be "lessned" but not turned off - I"ve also found you get used to it - not unlike the engine braking I experienced with my rental car stick shift in iceland for the past 8 days

but to each their own - you have to live with an EV for longer period of time before Tesla's advantages become clear, but their disadvantages are on display right off the bat- the Taycan is the reverse - it's a better initial "hit" but over time the lack of tech savyness "wears" on the owner…

both companies could learn a thing or two from the other...

also a lot of Tesla's stuff can be handle by voice command - and the the steering wheel buttons are quite capable so the lack of buttons over time turns out to be less of an issue in my opinion.

Reactions: B61

B61

First Name
Bine
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
CT4 (9/2021)