First Name
Charlton
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2013 911 Carrera S Cabriolet
Country flag
Greetings!

new to the forum here. I’ve been a happy Porsche driver for 15 years. First a Boxster S convertible and currently a 991S Carrera Cabriolet.

I‘ve gotten great joy from my 911. I love driving with the top down, zipping along the winding backroads near my house, running the car through its gears with the 7 speed stick. But it might be time to move on.

my wife is starting to grumble. the 911 can’t comfortably seat four adults, the ride is rough for passengers, the cabin is noisy, I can’t safely drive the rear wheel drive 911 in inclement weather, and she hates driving a stick so has literally driven my car once in 7 years. Our youngest has taken our third car out to San Fran, and my wife is tired of my always using her Volvo XC90 and wants me to get a different car that would be a bit more practical.

I’ve been looking at possible replacements for the 911, and the Taycan seems to fit the bill. The car is fun to drive, can comfortably seat four adults, the cabin noise is nil, the ride is refined, and my wife would be happy to drive the car.

So the question is, how should this car be spec’d out?

I know I want at minimum a 4S because AWD is a must living in the Northeast. But what features have you Taycan owners found to be useful must haves, and what have you found to be a waste of money?

I might try to look for a gently used Taycan coming off a lease, or I might just order a car the way I want it. In any event, I’d appreciate any input.
Sponsored

whan

First Name
Will
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan RWD, Ferrari 458, Lexus GX460
Country flag
For a 4S (which comes with standard stuff already like air suspension that's not on RWD), I think the three most important options to have are larger performance plus battery, full leather, and adaptive cruise control (if you are in a traffic prone area or drive in traffic often)