Home owners offering public charging services from their garage; Is that really a thing?

festus_mcBitcoin

First Name
Festus
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2015 911 Turbo S, 2021 TTS (June 11)
Country flag
I'm totally new to electric vehicles, with a 2021 TTS scheduled for Jun 4 delivery. I'm trying to learn more about the apps owners use to stay charged, and of course I came across PlugShare.

I couldn't help but notice that some PlugShare users are posting their home address and offering to charge strangers' vehicles. Is that actually a thing? Seems risky for them to invite randoms into their home. So how does that work? Do they accept credit cards or cash just like a standard charging station? Here's an illustrative screenshot from PlugShare.

Porsche Taycan Home owners offering public charging services from their garage; Is that really a thing? Screen Shot 2021-03-05 at 8.06.10 AM

So I guess you'd just text the dude and say, "Hey, I'm outside your garage"?? Doesn't even show a price.
Sponsored

Dak

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Tesla Model 3, Taycan 4s Neptune Blue
Country flag
I was an early adopter of electric cars. I’ve driven an EV exclusively since 2014. During the early days the charging infrastructure was not widespread and the cars of the day (Nissan Leaf) had small batteries and low range (80mi). It was good to have this informal network of chargers which you could rely on in a pinch. Usually the owners didn’t charge anything for a fellow EV enthusiast to come and charge at their place. I imagine this doesn’t happen very often now a days with the wide availability of level 2 and level 3 chargers. Still it’s good to know that you sometimes have an option if your car is about to run out of charge and there aren’t commercial chargers nearby

JimBob

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan 4S
Country flag
Yeah, I hear the Bates motel has a charger. You might want to drop by.

rbt3

First Name
Robert
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles