How long is the wait before lock in date?

PythonCoder

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
N/A
Country flag
Hello everyone,
I'm new to Porsche and just ordered a Taycan RWD in the end of June in the US.
Dealership told me it would be around end of year for the car delivery.
They will get back to me once they have the lock in date.
After the credit check and I gave them my custom build code, the wait begins, I didn't get any confirmation document about my order, is this normal?
As a first time buyer I'm wondering at what stage I will hear back about updates or the tracking for TYD.
Can anyone share some experience and advice about my current situation?
Should I reach out for anything? or I just need to sleep well and wait :)
Any insight will be appreciated. Thank you so much!
Sponsored

Bella

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Taycan 4 CT, Prius
Country flag
Hello everyone,
After the credit check and I gave them my custom build code, the wait begins, I didn't get any confirmation document about my order, is this normal?
As a first time buyer I'm wondering at what stage I will hear back about updates or the tracking for TYD.
Based on my two previous Porsche purchases:
1. Commission number issued with my deposit. This tells you the dealer has an allocation( a slot for production from Porsche).
2. Within 48-72 hours you would receive an e mail from Porsche enabling you to track your Car. This is called Track Your Dream.
Just be aware some people on this Forum have reported giving a Deposit and not getting an Allocation for 3-6 months.
Whether you get a Commission number tomorrow or in 3 months only matters in that you could order from any dealer in the U.S. unless you have a relationship with that dealer. But since you said you were new to Porsche I presume that is not the case.

OP
OP

PythonCoder

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
N/A
Country flag
Based on my two previous Porsche purchases: