WuffvonTrips

First Name
Paul
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan Turbo CT
Country flag
So for example at 9:53, might that suggest that once Torque (orange line) peaks, motor power (purple line) is regulated with rpm to counter increasing ?friction? (green line) and so maintain a constant power at the wheels (blue line)?

WuffvonTrips

First Name
Paul
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan Turbo CT
Country flag
At least there's more power than Porsche states (not really a surprise but still, it's a lot more).
Looking at the graph at 9:53, isn't that indicating peak 725ps versus Porsche's stated 761? Sorry I don't understand German, I guess the answer is in the narration :blush:

Bigben

First Name
Alex
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Range Rover L405 4.4L SDV8, VW T-ROC R, Yamaha FZ8
Country flag
I know all this, I am an engineer who worked in Formula 1 for over 30 years.

Power is what actually does the work and, yes, it is calculated from torque and speed.

Two hypothetical engines, one with twice the torque but at half the rpm as the other have the same power, and, geared to do the same speed, the thrust at the tyre is the same for both because it is power, not torque that counts.

One of my old friends was technical director of the Ferrari F1 team. If an engineer came for a job interview his first question was always “which is important torque or power?” If the candidate answered torque the interview went no further.

It is a common mistake made by non-engineers and a disappointing number of people who think of themselves as engineers.
Jeremy Clarkson would be so proud of you!

Poweeeeeeeeeeeer!

whan

First Name
Will
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan RWD, Ferrari 458, Lexus GX460
Country flag
Agreed, power is what really drives a car. Higher torque vehicles are great, because it usually means it generates more power (assuming similar peak HP) at lower RPMs, where most people drive

Mr.Smith

First Name
PaulS
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles