Liquid on the ground when fast charging?

TC Fan

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan 4s
Country flag
So I am new to all of this, and have taken the Taycan to a 350kw station several times. It goes very quickly, and it's between my home and closer to my second home, so it makes a goo end of trip/beginning of trip stop. In any case, the past couple of times I've had it charging, I've noticed liquid has dripped below the car. I assume that's condensation? But I really have no idea, or whether this is normal. It's been fairly warm here - 85+ degrees F, when charging. Any thoughts?
Sponsored

struther

First Name
Brad
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Nissan GTR, Nissan 350z
Country flag
So I am new to all of this, and have taken the Taycan to a 350kw station several times. It goes very quickly, and it's between my home and closer to my second home, so it makes a goo end of trip/beginning of trip stop. In any case, the past couple of times I've had it charging, I've noticed liquid has dripped below the car. I assume that's condensation? But I really have no idea, or whether this is normal. It's been fairly warm here - 85+ degrees F, when charging. Any thoughts?
Air conditioning perhaps? Those often drip water moisture. Don’t have my car yet so can’t confirm.

daveo4EV

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Cayenne Hybrid, 911(s) GT3/Convertable
Country flag
most likely condensation from the cooling system that runs to manage battery temperature during the charging process - but it never hurts to check - fast charging is thermally challenging and the BMS needs to use the battery temperature systems to keep the battery temp in line for longevity of the LiON cells…