New Porsche Owner needs help with Homelink

ron_b

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ron
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
831
Reaction score
625
Location
SF Bay Area, USA
Vehicles
Bolt EV, Taycan 4S (Frozen Sched Oct)
Country flag
A very nice video showing how to setup homelink and also how to assign to a shortcut key.

How to Pair a Garage Door to the HomeLink System in a Porsche Taycan
Paul Steinbruner
 

Gogs

Well-Known Member
First Name
Gordon
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
501
Reaction score
225
Location
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Vehicles
Taycan 4S - Soon, 911 4S, Range Rover Sport Hybrid
Country flag
A very nice video showing how to setup homelink and also how to assign to a shortcut key.

How to Pair a Garage Door to the HomeLink System in a Porsche Taycan
Paul Steinbruner
What happens if you have more than one profile? The shortcut key would not know what profile to activate?
 

ron_b

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ron
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
831
Reaction score
625
Location
SF Bay Area, USA
Vehicles
Bolt EV, Taycan 4S (Frozen Sched Oct)
Country flag
What happens if you have more than one profile? The shortcut key would not know what profile to activate?
yes I was surprised he didn't mention that but I would assume it would bring up the list in that case and you would have to hold the selection on the screen. Alternatively you could use that location-based option and maybe in conjunction it would know which one to activate with the shortcut.
 

Rekool3

Active Member
First Name
David
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
36
Reaction score
70
Location
Carlsbad, CA
Vehicles
2020 Taycan Turbo S, 2020 911 Carrera 4S
Country flag
A very nice video showing how to setup homelink and also how to assign to a shortcut key.

How to Pair a Garage Door to the HomeLink System in a Porsche Taycan
Paul Steinbruner
Thanks for posting this!! Just got it to work after resigning myself to carrying the remote in the car. I went ahead and passed it along to my sales rep, as he too hadn't figured it out yet.

And on we go....

Cheers
 

Denham

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Maine
Vehicles
2020 Taycan 4S
Country flag
I finally got my Homelink to work after some instructions from Homelink (which still did not match the screens in the Taycan). However, it does not come up when near to the door (I used the set location button when in the same location). I have to go to the Homelink screen and click on the button there. Only a few extra steps but shouldn't it come up when close to the door?
 

dryii

Well-Known Member
First Name
Doug
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
315
Reaction score
218
Location
Orlando, FL
Vehicles
2020 Porsche Taycan 4S, 2018 Tesla Model 3, 2015 Porsche Macan Turbo
Country flag
However, it does not come up when near to the door (I used the set location button when in the same location). I have to go to the Homelink screen and click on the button there. Only a few extra steps but shouldn't it come up when close to the door?
I have the same issue. The manual says it should be displayed, or even open it automatically. As of yet I have not see this capability.
And it's very annoying to have to click through 3-4 buttons just to open the garage door.
 

ron_b

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ron
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
831
Reaction score
625
Location
SF Bay Area, USA
Vehicles
Bolt EV, Taycan 4S (Frozen Sched Oct)
Country flag
I have the same issue. The manual says it should be displayed, or even open it automatically. As of yet I have not see this capability.
And it's very annoying to have to click through 3-4 buttons just to open the garage door.
Well @dryii and @Denham in the video above https://www.taycanforum.com/forum/threads/new-porsche-owner-needs-help-with-homelink.832/post-16985 Paul does seem to indicate that the location-based technique does not always work, I don't know why and I don't have the car to test it yet myself.
 

Denham

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Maine
Vehicles
2020 Taycan 4S
Country flag

KensingtonPark

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
111
Reaction score
63
Location
New York, NY
Vehicles
2020 Audi A7
Country flag
This is probably because the location-based HomeLink in VW cars does not work the way you expect. All it does (in Audis, and VWs at least) is that it raises an alert notification that you can pull down and press to open the garage door. So, instead of a swipe and a press, you can simply press the alert and it can open the door. The problem in my experience (with multiple cars with this feature) is that the alert appears very briefly, so if it does not do so when you are in range of the door.
 
OP

epirali

Well-Known Member
First Name
Edmund
Joined
Jan 15, 2020
Messages
256
Reaction score
397
Location
USA, East Coast
Vehicles
Taycan
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #25
I have deleted and added location multiple times and it never auto opens nor alerts, so if it has a function I don’t know it.
 

svp6

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
174
Reaction score
183
Location
MN
Vehicles
4S
Country flag
I have deleted and added location multiple times and it never auto opens nor alerts, so if it has a function I don’t know it.
Same here. The homelink did not appear despite setting up the location. I resigned to using the shortcut buttons for that.
 
OP

epirali

Well-Known Member
First Name
Edmund
Joined
Jan 15, 2020
Messages
256
Reaction score
397
Location
USA, East Coast
Vehicles
Taycan
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #27
Which on an unrelated note I have found another bug for @louv’s list. I had set up my shortcuts one way for homelink and camera, I switched them to a different configuration and they won’t stay in the new configuration, they keep reverting to the old setting. Tried this many times and many ways...
 

lay3r3

Well-Known Member
First Name
David
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
92
Reaction score
47
Location
Missouri, USA
Vehicles
Taycan Turbo
Country flag
I have the same issue. The manual says it should be displayed, or even open it automatically. As of yet I have not see this capability.
And it's very annoying to have to click through 3-4 buttons just to open the garage door.
I set the dash shortcut button to activate the garage door. If you haven't set a use for that it may be a solution for you.
 

dryii

Well-Known Member
First Name
Doug
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
315
Reaction score
218
Location
Orlando, FL
Vehicles
2020 Porsche Taycan 4S, 2018 Tesla Model 3, 2015 Porsche Macan Turbo
Country flag
I set the dash shortcut button to activate the garage door. If you haven't set a use for that it may be a solution for you.
I have multiple openers configured, but I'll check out your suggestion.
 

lay3r3

Well-Known Member
First Name
David
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
92
Reaction score
47
Location
Missouri, USA
Vehicles
Taycan Turbo
Country flag
I have multiple openers configured, but I'll check out your suggestion.
I can’t recall if it opens the list or just activated the top one. Hope it helps either way.
 



Top