festus_mcBitcoin

First Name
Festus
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2015 911 Turbo S, 2021 TTS (June 11)
Country flag
I've been driving 911's exclusively for the last twenty years. Currently driving a 2015 911 Turbo S. Just ordered my first electric: a 2021 Taycan Turbo S, Volcano Grey. It'll be here in three to four months. A couple of newb EV questions:

(1) Is there a way to pay for electric charge-ups using cash? What about gift cards? Not an ideal/common use case, of course, but just curious.

(2) What information is transmitted back to Porsche (or its partners) on a regular basis? Is it just diagnostic information or does it contain location as well?

(3) I noticed during my test drive that Taycan has something called "privacy mode." My sales rep was unsure exactly what this feature does. Any downsides to keeping this on permanently?

Very excited about the new vehicle and becoming part of the Taycan community!
Sponsored

NC_Taycan

First Name
Lewis
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
'12 Tesla Model S P85, '17 Cayenne S, '20 Taycan Turbo
Country flag
I won't ask why, you have your reasons.

1) Yes - just create an Electrify America account and use that.

2) Plenty of telematics data around car performance, diagnostics, and some usage info. Also location, mileage, state of charge, interior temp, status of doors and windows and locks, parking brake. Yes location.

3) Privacy mode prevents all data transmission to Porsche and effectively blocks use of the smartphone app. You can independently enable/disable data sharing for only the minimal services (which excludes location) or all of the services.

Miwa

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan Turbo
Country flag
You can't use cash, but you could use gift cards that function as credit cards. The cost for non-member charging like that is a lot more expensive though.

Like your existing Porsche, the car still logs a lot of info that a Porsche dealer could pull out of the car.

OP
OP
festus_mcBitcoin

festus_mcBitcoin