PCM Engineering mode, contains PCM reboot

benver

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ben
Joined
Apr 24, 2021
Messages
165
Reaction score
157
Location
the Netherlands
Vehicles
MY2020 Porsche Taycan Turbo
Country flag
(If you use an iPad to enter a new message, don't switch to your camera, first click save draft. Or else you'll loose all text:( entered which obviously happened to me)

Since the LTE icon disappeared a few days ago, I tried to solve it by rebooting the PCM.

First challenge was to figure out how to reboot. I had seen messages on the forum, but couldn't manage until today.

So let me try to explain how I did it:
Wait until all icons (more than 9 in my case) have appeared after switching on the car, for example handleiding(manual) appears after a while.
Right after startup:
IMG_8604.jpg

(Sorry for the lousy pics, but didn't want to wait till tonight).
Menu is now complete:
IMG_8605.jpg

Go to the first home screen on the center console by clicking on the home icon until you see the house picture and the first of the two lines below it in blue.(Like in the pic above).

Look in (almost) the top right of the screen, you should see your name there and an image that looks like the letter v. The letter v is position 1.
In the top right of the screen I see the temperature, but it is possible to have the date and/or time(?) there. Below it is a phone with a line through it from lower left to upper right. This is position 2.

Press and hold position 1 with your pointing finger and position 2 with your middle finger. The screens should go black. Stop pressing and wait about 10 seconds for the Engineering menu to appear. If nothing happens, lift your fingers and try again close to position 1 and 2. Eventually the screen will go black and you have managed to reboot into Engineering mode.
IMG_8573.jpg

If your only intention was to reboot the PCM, reboot again to normal mode by pressing the last menu option.

Warning: Everything I describe next is to be used at your own risk...

Curious as I am, I clicked on the other three options too.
Activation keys:
IMG_8598.jpg

I didn't go any further with this one.

Next is version information:
IMG_8574.jpg

Clicking info showed a list of 27 devices:
IMG_8575.jpg

IMG_8576.jpg

IMG_8577.jpg

Some interesting device names for sure!

I clicked on POWebApps and got:
IMG_8578.jpg

I didn't explore this menu option any further.

update on the main menu showed NONE. Ok, but how about that Log button in the upper right :D
IMG_8579.jpg

After clicking it I got a list of updates that have been applied to the Taycan :like:
IMG_8580.jpg


So my car got 3 MPR3_ER_POG46 updates, P3267, P3276 and P3397. Probably the WMA stuff. These are PCM updates, thanks ChrisK.
And two online manual updates and a few OTA(Nav?) updates.

Clicking on the P3267 showed another menu:
IMG_8581.jpg


And clicking each option showed:
IMG_8582.jpg

IMG_8583.jpg

IMG_8583.jpg

IMG_8584.jpg

IMG_8585.jpg

IMG_8586.jpg

IMG_8587.jpg


The general information for the P3276 update:
IMG_8588.jpg


and the P3397 update:
IMG_8591.jpg


The P3397 had "Old" for the MMX3_Patch on device summary:
IMG_8597.jpg


There are some interesting module names in there, which might reveal which operating system and software is used in our car. I will dive deeper into this in another post.

BTW, the LTE icon never came back, so I'll go to the PC this week.
(Also connect app and myporsche website can't find the car, there are more LTE problems reported on the forum).
 
Last edited:

NC_Taycan

Well-Known Member
First Name
Lewis
Joined
Oct 13, 2020
Messages
670
Reaction score
556
Location
Wake Forest, NC
Vehicles
'12 Tesla Model S P85, '17 Cayenne S, '20 Taycan Turbo
Country flag
It's Linux with the apps running in containers. Not sure if it's Docker or some other container orchestration.
 
OP
benver

benver

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ben
Joined
Apr 24, 2021
Messages
165
Reaction score
157
Location
the Netherlands
Vehicles
MY2020 Porsche Taycan Turbo
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #3
It's Linux with the apps running in containers. Not sure if it's Docker or some other container orchestration.
It is Docker, I am waiting for an opportunity to see were the hard disk is located. Hopefully I will then be able to pull it out of my Taycan and make a bit image copy and mount the copy to my linux laptop :cool:
 

NC_Taycan

Well-Known Member
First Name
Lewis
Joined
Oct 13, 2020
Messages
670
Reaction score
556
Location
Wake Forest, NC
Vehicles
'12 Tesla Model S P85, '17 Cayenne S, '20 Taycan Turbo
Country flag
I'm certain by "hard disk" you meant embedded SSD, but given all the other shortcomings we have seen from Porsche here, I really wouldn't be that surprised to find a spinner in there. I think the PCM control board sits below the center console control screen but I don't know this for certain. If indeed it's an embedded eMMC, copying it would be tough. If it's a 2.5" SFF SSD then it's a piece of cake (if you can actually get to it).
 

Advertisement





 
ZYRUS


Advertisement
Top