s5urf

First Name
stu
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan CT
Country flag
I know this has been covered before probably but I am an EV and forum newbie and so... confused. UK based so UK answers only please.

About to finalise spec and need to decide what charge/cable options I need for mostly at home charging with the occasional foray further afield?

- do I need the DC on-board booster?
- do I need the mode 3 cable?
- anythng else?

I don't and won't have 3 phase supply.

I think there might be a question over the on-board booster in that it is relatively useless now but might become useful if Tesla open up their chargers as they have hinted. Is that correct, or nonsense (or something in between)?

I am doing separate research about what wall box to buy, but either way I will need a cable to plug in to that and a 3 pin cable for when I am at my second home (until I fit dedicated charger to that too). I think the latter is supplied as standard but it isn't really clear.

Either replies or links to any useful threads would be really appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored

OP
OP
s5urf

s5urf

First Name
stu
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan CT
Country flag
Thank you. I think, in summary, I need the 150W booster to take advantage of fast (DC) public charging and I also need the type 2 mode 3 cable to take advantage of AC public charging. And I don't need anything else (and if I did, I could get it afterwards since the booster is the only thing built in to the car). 3 phase or workplace use is irrelevant for me. So hopefully I can keep it simple!

Fish Fingers

First Name
Ian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan RWD
Country flag
In the end I went with the 150kw option (it's a must have imo) and the standard 'public charging cable'? which I use with our home charger.