Using Apple Car play for non Apple music streaming (Qobuz) or playing from a USB stick

f1eng

First Name
Frank
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan CT4S, Ferrari 355, Merc 500E, Prius PHV
Country flag
I started using file based music when the original iPod came out because I am a music lover but was abroad somewhere every week.

As a mainly classical music listener I found the file structure inconvenient, with tracks called "songs" when 95% of what I listen to not being songs, but lived with it using playlists of classical works.

I got a free subscription to Apple music last year when I bought a new iPad but found it pretty well useless for finding anything I want to listen to the search is totally rubbish for non-pop genre music.

Anyway I have a Qobuz subscription, which isn't much better for searching really but has a wider choice of music I like and also a huge legacy iTunes library (now lumped into Apple music).

Generally I have found all file based players are useless for classical music so at home I have gone back to CDs and the odd LP but cars don't have CD players any more :(

I have absolutely zero interest in re-starting the Apple music subscription so will not be using that feature of the Taycan ICE offering.

Has anybody used Apple car play to successfully run music apps into the car system?
If so did it work OK?

Does the standard, Bose or Burmester system have the capability to sort out the files logically and play from a USB stick?
Sponsored

Pozuelo

First Name
Roberto
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2020 Taycan Turbo S, 2018 E63S Estate, 2023 A45S
Country flag
The Burmester does have the capability and I believe so do the other two. It will play hi-res files.

satchurator

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
MY22 CT4
Country flag
I started using file based music when the original iPod came out because I am a music lover but was abroad somewhere every week.