im85288a

First Name
Ian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan 4S ST
Country flag
Like many people on here I have been waiting for my Taycan for what seems like forever (since April 2021)..but it’s due to arrive end of July 2022 (hopefully).

So I watch every YouTube review/video I can to keep me entertained waiting for the car to arrive.

Reading some of the posts on here is unnerving in particular with software issues.

This video shows the PCM crashing (forward to around 19:05 mins in)

Luckily I am a software developer so can probably work around it, but just wanted to gauge peoples opinions on if this is something that happens often or more down to bad luck with that particular vehicle.
Sponsored

Oink

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan 4S+, M3P
Country flag
Yeah had that happen once. I just drove it regardless as I was just going to the store. You should still be able to use the two-finger reboot into engineering mode then quit it to force a reboot.

EDIT: Just to iterate because I'm not watching a 40 minute video to find out if he says it -- the loading screen does not affect the instrument cluster, so no worries there.

EDIT2: Okay as I was typing and video was playing he confirmed it at 21:54.

whitex

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 Taycan TCT, 2024 Q8 eTron P+
Country flag
This is not particular to electric vehicles. Very similar infotainment as Taycan is used on internal combustion Porsches (Cayenne & 911), so they likely have similar problems. Essentially this is a problem with all modern cars which heavily rely on very complex computers.