Navigating the Taycan Terrain: Finance, Depreciation, and Future Proofing

sheybass

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
BMW X4 (2019) 20d
Country flag
Hey everyone,

I'm currently at a crossroads and could really use some insight. I've been eyeing a Taycan lately, and with the recent dip in depreciation, it's got me thinking it might be within reach. Here's where I stand:

I've been driving a 2019 X4 20d since Nov 2022, snagged for £33k on HP. After a decent year financially, I paid off the 9% interest finance but now find myself yearning for an electric ride. The i4 was a dream back then, but the Taycan? Never even considered it until now. With my single, 32-year-old status, the Taycan seems like it could be a perfect fit.

I've looked into other EVs like the i-Pace, Polestar 2, and Mach-E, but I keep circling back to the Taycan. The question now is, can I afford it? Market trends suggest a used one might be feasible, especially with more price drops on the horizon. My budget caps around £56k, aiming for a monthly payment not exceeding £600 regardless of the finance route.

My research hints that a PCP deal might be the way to go, given my intent to switch cars in about four years. Crunching numbers on Autotrader's finance calculators, a £56k Taycan with a conservative £20k part exchange and 9.9% APR leads to roughly £380/month over 4 years with 6k miles annually. But here's the kicker - I'd be short on equity for the next ride, potentially facing higher payments or a downgrade.

Another avenue involves a bank loan of £30k (hopefully at a better rate), plus £20k for my car, and an additional £5k, pushing my monthly payments to £602. The upside? I can chip away at the interest during good years. However, I'd be shouldering the depreciation burden, possibly leaving me in a tough spot down the road when it's time to sell.