or1

First Name
O
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan GTS ST
Country flag
I am far from an expert on this. What I can try to describe is what I think and feel. But I cannot exclude that much of it is imagination: “it is a Porsche, it should drive better”.

There is one aspect that is definitely real, however, although the judgment is subjective: electric sport sound. I appreciate very much being able turn it off, as I can do in the Taycan and not in the RS. I don’t have to listen all the time to what in the RS seems like wheel bearings going bad. Having all sounds with “natural” causes is good, whether they are telling that all is OK or something is wrong. There is interesting life in the natural EV sounds: wheels, motors, gears, wind. It is not as brutal as with ICE, if someone wants to compare with that, but what about refinement instead? The relative silence of driving electric appeals to me, and a fake sound is subtracting from that experience.

Another theme is drive modes. The RS goes into Comfort when started, and it is a few button presses to switch mode. And the difference between Comfort and Dynamic is not that big to me, so I mostly left it in Comfort. Why they don’t allow the car to remember a mode choice is beyond me - it would be a very easy way to let most drivers be happier.

The Taycan always starts in Normal, alas no memory there either. But the other modes are so much easier to set with the small knob in the steering wheel, that I actually do it. I prefer Individual, with Sport as the basis, chassis height mid (some bad roads around here, and the efficiency difference is not important) - and sound off of course.