W1NGE

First Name
Adrian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
GTS ST, Macan T
Country flag
Screenshot from configurator today....Does this mean the 22kw charger issue is sorted on new cars so you can charge 'safely' at home on a single phase charger at home without dialling the power down??

Screenshot_20220508-192411_Samsung Internet.jpg
Yes - no issue going forward.

Do you specifically need a 22kW.charger given the cost and using DC 50kW would be so much quicker?

Abdul

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Gentian Blue Taycan 4S...previously Ice Grey RWD
Country flag
Yes - no issue going forward.

Do you specifically need a 22kW.charger given the cost and using DC 50kW would be so much quicker?
I'm in Scotland too and a lot of the public chargers are still AC 22kw. Would reduce charge time by half. BTW this wasn't specifically for me but more for info as well as possibility of charging on Tesla network...if that ever happens...however I'm no expert on the charging nuances

W1NGE

First Name
Adrian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
GTS ST, Macan T
Country flag
I'm in Scotland too and a lot of the public chargers are still AC 22kw. Would reduce charge time by half. BTW this wasn't specifically for me but more for info as well as possibility of charging on Tesla network...if that ever happens...however I'm no expert on the charging nuances
There is significant DC (>= 50kW) coverage. I don't have the 22kW AC option nor have I felt that I needed it in 16 months of ownership.

I don't follow your comment on the Tesla network as this only relates to the 120kW supercharger EVSEs which are 400V. To take advantage of these (if ever) you would need the 150kW DC 400V to 800V booster option.

Remember that the Taycan's standard AC charger is 11kW which will charge 50% faster than single phase 7.4kW when connected to say a 22kW AC EVSE.