Porsche Intelligent Range Manager Worth having?

Chuck J

First Name
Chuck
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2020 Silver Taycan 4S, 2012 991 911 (sold), 1995 993 (Gave to son) 1965 356 (gave to son)
Country flag
I got the Intelligent range manager and find it horrible. ABRP is much better. The Porsche planning system routed me 2 hours honger on my trip. It does near nothing right. The only worse piece of software is the Porsche Connect. Thank God they got the rest of the car right. I have been driving Porsche cars since 1967 and it's the worst engineering I have ever experienced.

Conversely, the best way to plan a trip is to identify and put in the next stop when you charge up and stop charging when the indicator says you will have 15% when you get to the destination charger. Be sure you have an alternative that can save you if that charger doesn't work. ABRP will identify that. The percent energy remaining at destination is very accurate and makes using it as range anxiety reducing as experienced in a gas car.

Chuck J

Last edited:

JimBob

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan 4S
Country flag
ABRP is extraordinarily conservative in its planning. It's always sticking in charging stops that aren't really needed. There is no way you are going to run out of charge using their planning. If you have a well known route with charging stops, as an experiment try to get ABRP to agree to the real world results using the same conditions.

Now it would be interesting to compare Intelligent Range Manager with ABRP over the same route and see what the actual differences are.

Chuck J

First Name
Chuck
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2020 Silver Taycan 4S, 2012 991 911 (sold), 1995 993 (Gave to son) 1965 356 (gave to son)
Country flag
You need adjust the constant number to get an accurate number

Chuck J

andrewket

First Name
Andrew
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
21 Taycan Turbo, Tesla Y*2; Prev S,X,3,996TT
Country flag