Car arrived, but dealer is cancelling the sale?

johnschlemmer

First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Tesla Model Y
Country flag
So, I ordered my GTS 7-8 months ago. The car arrived at the dealer, and I got a call saying they can no longer complete the sale. Im a WA resident, purchasing a car from an IL dealer. They agreed this could work if I would take delivery in IL, as long as I’d finance the car so they’d get more money / points / whatever it is they get through finance. This was all agreed upon verbally, in addition to signing the purchase order. Today, they’re telling me that I cannot complete the purchase unless I register the car in IL.

I offered another solution - I have family in IL, and I would register the car under two owners, with an IL address. Downside is I cannot finance this way, because the finance address needs to be at the same address as registration. I’m asking now to see if I can pay cash… They said they’d get back to me on a final decision, but the car was already removed from my account so I’m getting a bit worried.

Is this legal? Do you think they found some excuse to cancel my order so they can sell it at a higher markup? What should I do? Should I call Porsche NA? They’ve been good to work with up until this point so I’m definitely concerned about this last minute gotcha.

EDIT: this might work out, there was a concern about finance being a different address than registration, and they’re trying to make it work. If it works, then they really weren’t trying to flip the car and there must have been something else higher up stopping them. If not, we’ll, you’ll hear about it either way!

FINAL UPDATE: I was able to pay cash, take delivery and register all in IL.They made it work! Yay!
Sponsored

Last edited:

B61

First Name
Bine
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
CT4 (9/2021)
Country flag
What’s going on???